Change is Scary…

“Change is an opportunity to do something amazing.” 

As most of you know, I am geeky.  Many people tell me that my geeky is good, but I feel others look at me as an outlier.  I haven’t always been this geeky.  It has developed over time.  It all began when I was struggling to get my kids to meet their growth targets.  It turned out that the systemic way we were teaching wasn’t working, but this conversation began a fire within me that although scary at times has spurred me into a direction I never considered.  My geek is not about a need to consume information, but about a need to be better at my craft, to better meet the kids of those in my care and to stay on the cutting edge of what research or other experts in the field are saying is working.  My geek is about being innovative and that is where this series of posts begins.

My co-worker, Nancy, shared a book with me that I have been staring at for a couple of months.  It is one of those books you carry around for the summer, with the best of intentions to read.  The author, George Curous, has started a MOOC (Massive Open Online Course) to process the chapters and I have decided to participate in the MOOC, along with stretching both my technology skills and comfort zone by joining a Voxer group with other professionals around the country and working towards my professional goal of blogging more regularly.  The next few posts will be focused on the book The Innovator’s Mindset and what I am learning, thinking about and considering for my own practice.

Up until now, I have not thought of myself as a change agent.  I have thought of myself as possibly a perfectionist.  Although in other areas of my life, that would not ring true.  Just ask my honey.  When I think of change it scares me a little, but when I think of innovation I am invigorated.  I guess changing my mindset shifts the purpose of the change.  I’ll get on to reading the next section and will share what I am learning.

How do you feel about change?  Do you see it as scary?  An opportunity to do something amazing?  Just another thing we do?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

